gourmet food · saffron · Uncategorized

Cake orange saffron olive oil

Orange cake, saffron and olive oil

Posted by Vanessa on 22 September 2016

(Proportions for 6 cupcakes – for a full size cake, double the doses)
ingredients:
1 untreated orange
35g ground almonds
100 g brown sugar + a small amount for the mold
40 g flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
10 g of olive oil
2 eggs
1 dose of saffron
1 tablespoon orange blossom soup
1 pinch of salt
Preheat oven to 180 ° C.
Pour olive oil and saffron in a bowl. Mix.
Add sugar, orange blossom and eggs and mix again.
Take some zest of the orange, add them to the mix, mix and set aside.

Peel the orange and mix it to obtain a thick juice (Vanessa mixes his orange without peeling, I admit to not being a fan of the bitterness that it brings … You are free to leave or not bark orange).
Add it to the bowl and mix.
Add the almond powder, flour, baking powder and a pinch of salt, mix well again.
Grease your pan and sprinkle sugar (bottom and sides) to caramelize the cake to cook and pour the preceding device.
Bake between 1 and 1:15 (according to the ovens).
To check your cooking prick cake with a wooden skewer, it should come out dry.
Once cooked, wait for your cake to cool for unmold and place it (if possible) on a rack until completely cooled.
Vanessa thank you 🙂

 

Note to Julia in FoodHeaven>>>>>thank you very much, as I already tell you, your gifts have made me very happy, because this is exactly the kind of thing that catches my attention and “tickle” my curiosity, but why I can not find all need opportunities to buy (yes, I need opportunities … or “good excuses” to paraphrase the darling: P), so this is PERFECT! Thank you :*
Regarding the recipe, this is the first time I cook saffron in sweet version (and I thought, I even think to say that this is the first time I cook everything short of saffron), so thank you for this discovery! 🙂
My cake does not look quite that of Vanessa, I wonder if it does not lack a bit of cooking …
Vanessa has made cupcakes, I decided to make one, in my little brownie pan, I think I did not quite prolonged cooking (and / or is “to cause” changes I made to the recipe, see below). But this is not necessarily bad, because it gives him an air halfway between a cake and a custard pastry that does not displease me (and my work colleagues who have feasted this morning)
In fact this cake made me think of Christmas … I think my brain is conditioned to not eat oranges in winter! So I added some to my gilt decor, just a little, and warm colors, just to be in the festive mood New Year;)

